Macrobiotic Diet

Article navigation

The Macrobiotic diet has general guidelines for foods that are permitted. It is also advised that people attend certified macrobiotic cooking classes to help learn how to cook natural foods.

The Macrobiotic diet classifies foods into the following categories:

Foods to Eat at Several Meals Every Day

  • Brown rice – short, medium and long grain
  • Grains – barley (pearled and regular), buckwheat, millet, rye, whole oats
  • Leafy green vegetables – all types
  • Lettuce – all varieties (except iceberg and romaine)
  • Miso – from brown rice, barley
  • Unrefined white sea salt
  • Vegetables – broccoli, Brussels sprouts, cabbage, carrots, collard greens, corn, kale, onion, parsnip, pumpkin, radish, shiitake mushrooms, spinach, spring onions, squash,
Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Morbi volutpat sollicitudin neque sit amet fermentum. Morbi mollis, ante

Foods to Eat No More Than Once a Day

  • Agar-agar
  • Arame
  • Dulse
  • Legumes – azuki beans, black soybeans, chickpeas, green or brown lentils
  • Nori sheets
  • Wakame kombu

Drinks Without Limit

  • Bancha twig tea (kukicha)
  • Bancha leaf tea (green tea)
  • Roasted barley or rice tea
  • Spring water
  • Yannoh (mixed grain coffee)

Drinks as Required

  • Amaske drink
  • Herbal teas
  • Juices – apple, grape, carrot and any other vegetable juices
  • Organic beer, sake or wine
  • Soy milk



comments powered by Disqus